Browse by topic

Each topic is a buyer's home: guides, tools, and a few directory listings.

Independent guidance on the services practices actually buy. The full provider directory sits behind every topic.

Topics
Credentialing & Enrollment Medical Billing & RCM EHR & Practice Software Practice Startup & Consulting HIPAA Compliance, Risk & Legal
Browse
Buyer guides Decision Tools How We Evaluate Research Directory Partners
Get MatchedList Your Firm

Best RCM Services for Specialty Practices 2026

·

How we evaluate providers →

Compare the providers below by buyer fit and documented terms. Use the quick picks to form a shortlist, then review the linked evidence and confirm current terms with each provider.

Also useful: get the RCM Vendor Evaluation Scorecard as a free PDF

A related resource for practices going through this decision. Enter your email and we'll send it straight to your inbox.

Quick picks

Best for Vendor Starting price Provider link
Best for independent specialty practices in the 1-50 provider range. AdvancedMD 4-8% of collections (full-service revenue cycle management) Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).Get pricing →
Best for specialty practices evaluating billing and EHR options. CureMD Verify directlyGet pricing →
Best for small to mid-sized specialty clinics. MedCare MSO Verify directlyGet pricing →

Providers compared

Placement on this page cannot be bought. See our methodology.

Prices and vendor descriptions with a source link come from the held vendor records, read on the date shown. A dash (—) means the unsupported field was removed; it is not a price or a statement about what the vendor offers. Best-for picks are editorial fit guidance. Request current written terms before purchase.

AdvancedMD RCM

For independent specialty practices in the 1-50 provider range.

Starting price
4-8% of collections (full-service revenue cycle management) Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
Renewal
—
Trial / guarantee
—
Best for
Independent specialty practices in the 1-50 provider range.

Key features

  • Integrated billing and practice management on one database, plus optional full-service RCM Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • Included: practice management, EHR and patient engagement core features (scheduling, billing, claims, ERA, ePrescribing, charting, portal, telehealth, reminders, reporting) Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • ClaimInspector scrubs claims for CCI, HIPAA and LCD errors Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • Insurance and patient billing Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • Reporting and analytics Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).

Notable pro: Core software included at no additional charge for RCM clients Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).

Visit AdvancedMD RCM →

athenahealth (athenaCollector / Revenue Cycle Services)

For mid-to-large multi-specialty groups.

Starting price
Verify directly
Pricing tiers
Verify directly
Trial / guarantee
—
Renewal
—
Best for
Mid-to-large multi-specialty groups.

Key features

  • Integrated medical billing and practice management, with billing-services support (coders, claim follow-up) Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • 24/7 live support Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • Listed under Expanded Capabilities (extra tools that extend athenaOne); price not stated Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • Claim scrubbing offered Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • Medical billing and practice management offered Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • Population health management (listed under Expanded Capabilities) Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).

Notable pro: 24/7 live support Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).

Notable con: Voice dictation is an Expanded Capability whose price is not stated. Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).

Visit athenahealth (athenaCollector / Revenue Cycle Services) →

Promantra

For specialty practices addressing aged accounts receivable.

Starting price
Verify directly
Best for
Specialty practices addressing aged accounts receivable.
Visit Promantra →

Tebra Managed Billing (formerly Kareo)

For small independent practices and solo specialists.

Starting price
Not published: quote-only Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
Software tier
Not published: quote-only Vendor source (checked 2026-10-05).
Trial / guarantee
—
Renewal
—
Best for
Small independent practices and solo specialists.

Key features

  • Integrated billing inside the platform; outsourced billing partners also available Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • Separately priced (see list_price addon=ai-note-generation) Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • Included in all subscription levels Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • Integrated billing offered Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • Patient portal offered Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).
  • Online scheduling offered Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).

Notable pro: Electronic remittance advice (835) carries no charge. Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).

Notable con: PDMP is an add-on service with its own setup and annual fees. Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).

Visit Tebra Managed Billing (formerly Kareo) →

Side-by-side comparison

ProviderStarting priceBest forProvider link
AdvancedMD RCM4-8% of collections (full-service revenue cycle management) Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).Independent specialty practices in the 1-50 provider range.View provider
athenahealth (athenaCollector / Revenue Cycle Services)Verify directlyMid-to-large multi-specialty groups.View provider
CareCloud Concierge RCMVerify directlyMulti-specialty practices evaluating outsourced RCM.View provider
CureMD RCM Billing ServicesVerify directlySpecialty practices evaluating billing and EHR options.View provider
Human Medical BillingVerify directlyPrivate specialty practices comparing RCM contracts.View provider
MedCare MSOVerify directlySmall to mid-sized specialty clinics.View provider
PromantraVerify directlySpecialty practices addressing aged accounts receivable.View provider
Tebra Managed Billing (formerly Kareo)Not published: quote-only Vendor source (record read 2026-10-05).Small independent practices and solo specialists.View provider

How we tested

Use the linked vendor records to check documented terms. Ask providers to demonstrate your required workflows and confirm current commercial terms in writing.

Guide inclusion criteria explain the evidence-packet policy and current guide orders. Full methodology is published at our Buyer's Guide methodology page.

How to choose RCM services for your specialty practice

  1. Specialty workflow depth — Confirm the vendor has billers trained on your specific procedure-code mix. A generalist billing team will leave money on the table in cardiology cath lab work, orthopedic surgical bundles, dermatology Mohs sequencing, urology surgical add-ons, GI endoscopy modifiers, and ENT in-office procedure billing.
  2. Pricing structure alignment — Percentage-of-collections aligns vendor incentive with your revenue. Per-provider subscription is more predictable but does not adjust when payer mix shifts. Pick the structure that matches your revenue volatility, and avoid hybrid models that effectively double-charge during transition periods.
  3. Days-in-AR and denial-rate reporting cadence — Insist on weekly or bi-weekly reporting on aged AR by bucket, denial reason codes, and net collection rate. If the vendor only ships monthly snapshots, you will catch problems 30 days too late to course-correct.
  4. Implementation timeline with named owners — Plan on 60-120 days from contract to first clean claim. Get the implementation Gantt chart with named accountable owners on both sides before signing. Specialty practices with custom fee schedules and surgical add-on coding land at the longer end.

Two of the criteria above have federal text underneath them. On pricing structure: OIG's Compliance Program Guidance for Third-Party Medical Billing Companies (63 FR 70138, December 18, 1998) records a "longstanding concern that percentage billing arrangements may increase the risk of upcoding," and 42 CFR 424.80(b)(5) bars Medicare from paying a billing agent whose compensation is tied to the amounts billed or collected -- so under every percentage-of-collections contract in this guide, Medicare payment lands in the practice's own account, and the vendor's coding-audit process is the control that offsets the incentive. On the prior authorization workload that drives specialty denials: CMS-0057-F (89 FR 8758, effective April 8, 2024) requires Medicare Advantage organizations and Medicaid and CHIP programs, beginning with 2026, to decide standard prior authorization requests within 7 calendar days and expedited requests within 72 hours, and requires every impacted payer to state a specific reason for each denial. A vendor's denial-reason reporting should be reading those reasons back to you by code. The 2024 CAQH Index (Key Takeaways, 2024) puts the staff time saved by the electronic prior authorization standard at 14 minutes per authorization, which for a cardiology or orthopedic group is a measurable share of the work being outsourced.

The percentage question deserves its own read before signing: percentage of collections vs flat fee works the arithmetic by average dollars per claim, and for a surgical specialty averaging several hundred dollars per claim the flat-fee side usually wins on price alone. The 60-to-120-day implementation window is where most of these relationships fail; why outsourced billing fails in the first 90 days sets the weekly checkpoints, and how to switch billing companies without losing cash flow covers the overlap plan for groups leaving an incumbent. For the full questionnaire behind the criteria above, use the 58 questions to ask a medical billing company and score the answers on the RCM vendor evaluation scorecard; specialty groups whose real problem is the payer contract rather than the biller should start with best payer contracting services for specialty practices.

Frequently asked questions

How long does RCM implementation take for a specialty practice?

Plan on 60 to 120 days from contract signing to first clean claim submitted by the new vendor. Specialty practices with custom fee schedules, multiple payer contracts, or surgical add-on coding tend to land at the longer end. Ask any vendor to walk you through their implementation Gantt chart with named accountable owners on both sides before you sign.

Are there money-back guarantees for RCM services?

Define performance measures and remedies in the proposed agreement. Use clean-claim rate, days in AR and net collection rate to frame the questions you ask.

How do vendors get included?

Placement on this page cannot be bought. Vendors are included using our published methodology and the information and evidence available for each vendor. You can submit corrections or supporting evidence for review. Providers are listed alphabetically. Paid placement is labeled separately.

Bottom line

For most specialty practices, CureMD is a fit because the 32+ specialty templates land closer to the procedure-code reality your billing team actually faces. Independent specialty groups in the 1-50 provider range should look hard at AdvancedMD as an option — the bundled EHR/PM saves a separate software contract. Solo specialists and very small groups (1-3 providers) get the cleanest economics from Tebra's partner-matched managed billing once they price out the per-transaction structure against their monthly claim volume.

EHR fact freshness and sources

Dates below apply to the named canonical facts, not to every claim on this page. Unknown means the canonical record has no value; not published means the vendor does not publish it.